Delta Sigma Theta, Inc.

Georgetown Alumnae Chapter



Presidential Greetings...

Welcome to the website of the Georgetown Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated.  I bring you greetings on behalf of our members serving the Georgetown County community.  Our organization focuses on service to the community through initiatives directed from our Grand Chapter: 

·      Educational Development

·      Economic Development

·      Political Awareness and Involvement

·      International Awareness and Involvement

·      Physical and Mental Health

 We continually evaluate our communities’ needs and tailor our efforts to reflect the Five Point Programmatic Thrust of our organization. 

 Since the fall of 1968, the Georgetown Alumnae Chapter has prided itself on public service, promotion of academic excellence and making this world a better place. As the chapter looks toward the future through its strong membership, it will continue to make worthwhile public service contributions to the Georgetown Community.

Thank you for visiting us.  Come back often to witness the chapter’s past and to make plans to join us in embracing change as we continue as the Georgetown Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta – A Sisterhood Called to Serve:  Transforming Lives, Impacting Communities.

Dr. Marthena Grate Morant,



Chapter History

In the fall of 1968, with the guidance of Mrs. Thelma Gilliard, twelve dynamic women met in the home of Mrs. mary Ella W. Greene to share their vision of establishing a local chapter in the Georgetown area.  The chapter was incorporated on June 4, 1969 under the leadership of Mrs. Barbara Jenkins Williams, the South Atlantic Regional Director.  Mrs. Mary Ella W. Greene served as the first president.  Following a brief period of inactivity, Mary Ella W. Greeene was approached by a group of recent Vorhees College graduates lead by Vervatine Reid, Linda Gayle Greene, Lena M. Greene and Nancy Hudson who expressed a desire to reactivate the chapter.  In 1980, the chapter was reactivtated with Nancy Hudson serving as president.  Over the past 40 years, under the leadership of Mary Ella Greene, Nancy Hudson, Mary Davis, Lillie Johsnon, Alma White, Ethel Blake Bellamy, and Eunice Brown, the sorority has continually provided public service to the community in the areas of Delta's Five Point Thrust Program. 


Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a private, non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. A sisterhood of more than 200,000 predominately Black college educated women, the Sorority currently has over 900 chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas and the Republic of Korea.

The Sorority was founded in 1913 by 22 students at Howard University. These young women wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence; to provide scholarships; to provide support to the underserved; educate and stimulate participation in the establishment of positive public policy; and to highlight issues and provide solutions for problems in their communities.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. conducts all of its activities in accordance with the rules that govern organizations whose tax status is 501(c)(3).

Charter Members


Janet Woodbury Bogan Mildred Gilliard*
Thelma Gilliard Mary Ella W. Greene* 
Mary Francis Greene*Lillie Jean Johnson 
Loretta Jones* Margaretta D. Knox 
Myra J. Richardson  Joanne Session 
Mable A. Smith Rosa O. Williams 


Contact Information:

Mailing Address:

Georgetown Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta, Incorporated 

Post Office Box 1113

Georgetown, SC 29442




This website is the sole property of the Georgetown Alumnae Chapter.